Image 01


23 June 2018: Midsimmertwirre Minifestival Classical Music by Paulus Folkertsma great succes

The new foundation Aldeboarn Foarút in collaboration with the Paulus Folkertsma Foundation look back on a very successful festival. Both foundations are proud that many people could enjoy the performances at different locations. This is thanks to the large group of people, volunteers, who have made great efforts to ensure that this event could take place and be a great success. On an evening that went smoothly and, with a beautiful decoration at the various locations we received a lot of appreciation from the visitors. It was an evening to remeber.
Here are some photos:


Here some more pictures and recordings of the concerts

And look at the picturebook

New CD release:


Vondelkwartet plays Paulus Folkertsma. The CD is produced and released by Aliud records.

Read more and order now .!

New Cd String Quartets.

The Vondelquartet.

Violinist Marieke de Bruijn (1967) graduated cum laude from the Sweelinck Conservatory in Amsterdam and continued her studies at the University Of Wisconsin (US). After her graduation she worked as a freelance musician at, amongst others, the Royal Concert-hall Orchestra and the Schönberg Ensemble. For seven years she played as a regular member in the Amsterdam Sinfoniëtta. De Bruijn gives concerts with the ensembles she assembled herself: the Vondel quartet, Tango Rosa Rio (Argentinean tango) and Trio Vidalita (Gypsy and jazz music). Besides that, she is concert master at the Promenade orchestra and regularly plays with pop musicians.

The CD contains the following pieces:

String quartet in G op. 10 (a,b,c,d)
1. Allegro non Troppo (4:58)
2. Andantino (3:41)
3. Scherzo (1:16)
4. Vivace

5. Andante for cello and small orchestra op. 21 (e,f) (3:48)

String quartet in d op. 28 (a,b,c,d)
6. Allegro (5:04)
7. Vivace (4:01)
8. Andante (3:56)
9. Fuga (3:22)

10. Romance for violin and orchestra (a,f) (5:12)

11. In Memoriam R.O. Blackhall, A.J. Sutton, K.E. Emmons (a,b,c,d) (5:26)

You can order the CD from

Older News

In 1989 a committee “Paulus Folkertsma ta eare” was founded, with the object of ordering the musical remains of the composer, making them more easily accessible, promote the work and make it better known.
committee was converted into a foundation, having the same name and object.
Now the name of the foundation is changed into “Paulus Folkertsma Stichting”

Meanwhile, the foundation has organized a number of concerts, dedicated to the music of Paulus Folkertsma, and a compact disc has been issued, in cooperation with broadcasting company VPRO, containing an overview of his compositions.

A second CD, Mimerij and the book Muzyk klinkt yn myn hert, with a complete overview of the solo songs of Paulus Folkertsma have been published. Both the CD and book can be obtained at the foundation, via  info[at]

Furthermore, efforts are undertaken to have the operetta “De Jonkerboer” performed once again.

We will keep you informed of concerts in which Folkertsma’s works can be enjoyed, through this website.